Liverpool's History

Formed in 1892 following a dispute over rent between Everton FC and their landlord at Anfield - John Houlding - who founded Liverpool as Everton departed for Goodison Park. The Reds soon established themselves as one of the country's top teams with five league titles between 1900 and 1947, before slipping into Division Two in 1954. But the reigns of Bill Shankly and Bob Paisley from 1959 to 1983 saw power shift significantly towards Anfield. After gaining promotion to the top flight in 1961, the club earned honour after honour, including four European Cup triumphs. Their 18 First Division title victories is a proud record on Merseyside. However, the club and the city reeled from two disasters - Heysel in 1985 and Hillsborough in 1989. The 1990s was something of a transitional period for the club, with one FA Cup and one League Cup added to the trophy cabinet. But the arrival of a new regime, led by French coach Gerard Houllier, reprised the glory days. In one calendar year, 2001, Houllier's side collected a staggering five trophies, although the much-coveted Premier League title remains elusive so far. After Houllier's depature in May 2004, Rafael Benitez was the man appointed to seek the top prize. And Benitez immediately secured his place in the Anfield history books with victory in the 2004/05 Champions League - the Anfield outfit's fifth triumph on Europe's biggest stage. And in early 2007 ownership of the club changed hands with American duo George Gillett and Tom Hicks securing unconditional control.

0 tukang kipas:

Related Posts with Thumbnails